VIII International

Ignacy Jana Paderewski Piano Competition

Bydgoszcz, 7-21 November 2010

From 7th to 21st November 2010 took place in Bydgoszcz VIII Paderewski International Piano Competition under the Honorary Patronage of the President of the Republic of Poland Bronislaw Komorowski.

The year 2010 was particularly important due to the 150th anniversary of Ignacy Jan Paderewski's birth (6th November 1860), which was celebrated all over the world and decided by General Conference of UNESCO during its 35th session in October 2009.

The main organizer of the Competition is the I. J. Paderewski Music Society in cooperation with F. Nowowiejski Academy of Music in Bydgoszcz and the I. J. Paderewski Pomeranian Philharmonic in Bydgoszcz. The function of Competition Director was again held by Henryk Martenko and the Artistic Director - Prof. Piotr Paleczny.

The inaugural concert took place on 7 November 2010 at 7 p.m. in the concert hall of the Pomeranian Philharmonic. The outstanding piano duo of Genova and Dimitrov performed.

Pianists of all nationalities, born in 1978-1994, could take part in the competition. In May and June 2010 preliminaries for the VIII CIP were held in Moscow, London, New York Los Angeles and Warsaw. Pianists who could not take part in the preliminaries could send a DVD recording. According to the Rules of the Competition (VI. #1), out of 89 applications, by decision of the Jury, 46 pianists from 13 countries were qualified to participate in the VIII International Paderewski Piano Competition, and eventually 37 pianists performed. 21 pianists were admitted to the second stage and the six best performers took part in the final.

The jury unanimously confirmed the high level of the Competition, with a total prize pool of 60 thousand Euros, unchanged since 2007. Second Prize went to Kim Hyun Jung from Korea (15 000 Euro), Third Prize (ex aequo) went to Sergey Redkin from Russia and Michał Szymanowski from Poland (7 000 Euro), while Fifth Prize went to Denis Evstyukhin from Russia (2 500 Euro). The 13-person Jury was headed by Professor Piotr Paleczny, the artistic director of the Competition.

The Competition has been a member of the Alink - Argerich Foundation since 2004 and a member of the World Federation of International Music Competitions based in Geneva since 2010.

Invited guests from Germany, the United States, Switzerland, Norway and Japan came to Bydgoszcz. These were the organizers of piano festivals, impresarios, pedagogues, representatives of Yamaha, who have established long-term relationships with Bydgoszcz, Paderewski Competition and Music Academy.

The Competition auditions were broadcast on the Internet and could be followed on the website

The Winners Concert was repeated at the National Philharmonic on November 24, 2010.

The First Lady Anna Komorowska took part in the Concert. Members of the Music Society from Bydgoszcz also participated in it. This is the third Competition in Poland, after the Chopin and Wieniawski Competitions, whose winners are presented to Warsaw audiences right after the Competition's conclusion.

The International Paderewski Piano Competition has become a part of the musical map of Bydgoszcz and Poland as one of the most important artistic events of 2010, contributing not only to saving from oblivion the compositions of Ignacy Jan Paderewski and fame of this great composer, but also to the promotion of Bydgoszcz - in Poland and worldwide - as a city favorable to music and friendly to young, talented artists.

The main donors of the Competition were: Ministry of Culture and National Heritage, National Cultural Center, Local Government of the Kuyavian-Pomeranian Voivodeship in Toruń, Bydgoszcz City Office. The group of donors also included private companies such as: Municipal Cultural Center, Yamacha Inc., Pomeranian Distribution System Operator, Gas Distribution Branch in Bydgoszcz, Przedsiębiorstwo Rekultywacji i Rewaloryzacji Obszarów Zabytkowych Eko-Park, Miejskie Przedsiębiorstwo Wodociągów i Kanalizacji Sp. z o. o. in Bydgoszcz, Izba Gospodarcza Wodociągi Polskie, Affabre sp, Budownictwo Komunikacyjne i Przemysłowe Gotowski, KPEC Bydgoszcz, Grupa Prefabret S.A., Hotel Pod Orłem, Hotel Brda, GRAN, Adam Sowa's Confectionery, Zeto Bydgoszcz S.A., Ebud Przemysłówka Bydgoszcz Sp. z o.o., Per Aarslef, Chata Myśliwska, Ciech Transclean, Rosmedia, Solbet sp. z o.o., Agnat sp. z o.o., and others. The competition was held under the media patronage of TVP Kultura, TVP3 Bydgoszcz, Polish Radio PIK and Polish Radio Program II.


1st prize - Eduard Kunz, Russia

2nd prize - Kim Hyun Jung, Republic of Korea

3rd prize (ex aequo) Sergey Redkin, Russia

3rd prize (ex aequo) - Michał Szymanowski, Poland

5th prize Denis Evstyukhin, Russia

Competition sponsors
Competition partners
The Competition is financed by
The Competition is financed by: the Ministry of Culture and National Heritage of Republic of Poland from the Fund of the Promotion of Culture – a State purpose–specific Fund, as part of the “Music” program, implemented by the National Institute of Music and Dance and the City of Bydgoszcz.
A Partner of the International Paderewski Piano Competition is Kujawsko-Pomorskie Region.