5th International

Ignacy Jana Paderewski Piano Competition

Bydgoszcz, 6-17 November 2001

On December 7, 2000 the Seym of the Republic of Poland adopted a resolution to establish the year 2001 as the Year of Ignacy Jan Paderewski. In this way Bydgoszcz, whose musical circles led to this event, became for the first 12 months of the new century the musical capital of Poland. Felicja Gwinciñska, President of the City Council and at the same time President of the Music Society, became the head of the organizing committee.

The national inauguration of the celebrations took place on 16 February 2001. Its main accent was a concert in the Pomeranian Philharmonic whose orchestra under the baton of Jerzy Maksymiuk performed Paderewski's symphony "Polonia" in B minor. The concert was attended by ministers, outstanding musicians, cultural activists from all over Poland, and an audience of 900 people. The 5th Piano Competition was included in the anniversary celebrations and its inauguration took place traditionally in the concert hall of the Pomeranian Philharmonic.

The Philharmonic Orchestra was conducted by Jerzy Maksymiuk, and the soloist of the evening was Vladimir Miloševič, who performed Piano Concerto in F Minor, Op. 21 by Fryderyk Chopin. In the second part of the concert was performed Symphony No. 6 in F Major "Pastoral" Op. 68 by Ludwig van Beethoven.

The President of the Republic of Poland, Aleksander Kwaśniewski, took the Competition under his honorary patronage.

Organizers of the Competition: I. J. Paderewski Music Society, I. J. Paderewski Pomeranian Philharmonic in Bydgoszcz, F Nowowiejski Academy of Music in Bydgoszcz. Cezary Nelkowski is the competition director and Maciej Puto is the media spokesman.

The competition, financed by the Bydgoszcz City Hall, the Marshal's Office in Toruń, the Ministry of Culture and National Heritage, and with the significant participation of private sponsors, took place from November 6-17, 2001 at the FP.

Of the 89 young pianists entered, 34 candidates from: Belarus (1), Czech Republic (2), Iran (1), Japan (1), Cuba (1), Poland (21), Russia (4), Ukraine(3).


1st prize - Štěpán Kos, Czech Republic

2nd prize - Aleksiej Komarow, Russia

3rd prize- Barbora Sejáková, Czech Rebublic

4th prize - Sławomir Wilk, Poland

6th prize - ex equo:

Viacheslav Zubkov, Ukraine

Vsevolod Vartanov, Russia

Competition sponsors
Competition partners
The Competition is financed by
The Competition is financed by: the Ministry of Culture and National Heritage of Republic of Poland from the Fund of the Promotion of Culture – a State purpose–specific Fund, as part of the “Music” program, implemented by the National Institute of Music and Dance and the City of Bydgoszcz.
A Partner of the International Paderewski Piano Competition is Kujawsko-Pomorskie Region.