About the Competition

The Competition is open to pianists of all nationalities, born between 1990 and 2006, who have not been students of the Jurors in the last three years.

The Competition is organized to commemorate Ignacy Jan Paderewski, an exceptional pianist, virtuoso, composer, politician and statesman.

The Honourable Patronage of the President of the Republic of Poland Andrzej Duda

1961 – First Competition

First All-Polish Ignacy Jan Paderewski Piano Competition
Bydgoszcz, December 1 – 10, 1961

The students and alumni from the academic year 1960/61 of higher musical schools in Poland participated in the competition. Twenty seven candidates representing Katowice, Cracow, Łódź, Poznań, Sopot and Warsaw entered the competition. Eventually 17 participants reported for the audition. The most renowned Polish musicians sat in the Jury.

First laureate

Jerzy Maksymiuk, the first prize winner of the First All-Polish Ignacy Jan Paderewski Piano Competition, winning the prize of the 5000 PLN.


1st prize – Jerzy Maksymiuk, The State Higher School of Music (PWSM) Warsaw – 5 000 PLN
2nd prize – Maria Korecka, PWSM Cracow – 4 000 PLN
3rd prize – Piotr Lachert, PWSM Warsaw – 3 000 PLN

1986 – Reactivation of the Competition

Jerzy Sulikowski, Professor of the Academy of Music in Bydgoszcz and Gdańsk and Henryk Martenka, the journalist of “Ilustrowany Kurier Polski” undertook to reintroduce the competition.

Twenty seven candidates, representing all important academic centers entered the Second All-Polish Ignacy Jan Paderewski Piano Competition, included 5 foreign pianists studied in Poland. The Chairman of the Jury was prof. Zbigniew Śliwiński.

2010 – the first live streaming in the Internet

The 8th Competition was exceptional. Thanks to modern technology, we have broadcast the auditions on the Internet for the first time.

Our channel is watched by over 10,000 viewers.

Honorary committee

Vladimir Ashkenazy

Jan Ekier

Waldemar Dąbrowski

Wojciech Kilar

Bronisław Komorowski

Aleksander Kwaśniewski

Jerzy Maksymiuk

Krzysztof Penderecki

Gen. Edward Rowny

Lech Wałęsa

Antoni Wit

Krystian Zimerman

Competition sponsors
Competition partners
The Competition is financed by
The Competition is financed by: the Ministry of Culture and National Heritage of Republic of Poland from the Fund of the Promotion of Culture – a State purpose–specific Fund, as part of the “Music” program, implemented by the National Institute of Music and Dance and the City of Bydgoszcz.
A Partner of the International Paderewski Piano Competition is Kujawsko-Pomorskie Region.